CYSO Concert Archives 2017


Nabil Shehata (Conductor)

The symphonic poem “Khirokitia” by Cypriot composer Yiorgos Karvellos conjures up an image of this Neolithic settlement recalling primordial memories and historical experience of 9000 years. It is written in a tonal musical idiom in which the composer incorporates and develops rhythmic and melodic elements from the music tradition of our country. Mendelssohn was only 14 years old when he composed his Double Concerto in D minor, which had its first public performance on July 3rd 1823 at the Berlin Schauspielhaus. The work, however, remained unpublished during Mendelssohn’s lifetime and it wasn’t until 1999 that a critical edition of the piece was available. Haydn’s Symphony no. 104, the composer’s last, was written in 1795 while the composer was living in London, and premiered there at the King’s Theatre with great success on May 4th 1795. Haydn wrote in his diary, “The whole company was thoroughly pleased and so was I. I made 4000 gulden on this evening: such a thing is possible only in England.”

Karvellos: Κhirokitia, symphonic poem
Mendelssohn: Concerto for piano, violin and strings in D minor, MWV O4
J. Haydn: Symphony no. 104 in D major, Hob.I:104

Soloists: Plotinos Mikromatis (piano), Alexis Theophylactou (violin)
Conductor: Nabil Shehata

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality

Booking & Event Information

Limassol: Wednesday 8 November 2017
Rialto Theatre, 20:30

Nicosia: Thursday 9 November 2017
Pallas Theatre, Paphos Gate, 20:30

Ticket prices:
€12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (12-18 yrs), €3 (under 12)

Ticket presales:
Rialto Theatre (Andrea Drousioti 19, Limassol 3040, 77777745)

  • Online at
  • Box Office, 4 weeks before the concert (Mon-Fri 10:00-13:00, 17:00-19:00, Sat 10:00-13:00) and 1,5 hrs before the concert

Pallas Theatre (Regenis and Arsinoes corner, Nicosia 1010, 22 410181)

  • Online at
  • Box Office, Wed 16:00-19:00 and 2 hrs before the concert

Information: 22 463144,